WAAO Committees and Descriptions

Below is a list of the WAAO Committees with a brief description.  If you are interested in serving on a committee, contact the Chairperson for information and to determine if the Committee has a vacancy. 

Auditing   Chairperson,  Sarah Tyrrell, Milwaukee  (414) 286-3556
Annually audits the accounting practice of the Association.

Awards   Chairperson,  Alan Land, Pleasant Prairie  (262) 796-6648
Promotes assessment education through awards or grants – promotes professionalism through achievement and recognition awards. 

Communications Chairperson, Steve Miner, Milwaukee (414) 286-3101
Committee is responsible for publishing
the AVOW Newsletter and maintaining the WAAO web site. The AVOW editor can be reached at AVOW@waao.org

Designations Chairperson, Scott Winter CAE RES, Milwaukee (414) 286-3137,
Committee web site

Provides assistance and encouragement to members working on designations. 

DOR Liaison Committee Chairperson Jef Muelver, Summit Lake, (715) 275-4001
Committee members are approved by the WI Department of Revenue to serve as Assessor liaisons regarding assessment practice issues

Education & Training   Co-Chair Amy Jo Mercer, Fitchburg (608) 270-4237 Co-Chair:  Katrina Malson, (920) 236-5070
Committee web site
Coordinates education and training sessions and provides speakers - promotes legislation supporting the public good through educational programs on the legislative process, property tax policy, and property tax administration.

Legislative Committee  Chairperson, Rocco Vita, Pleasant Prairie  (262) 925-6714
Committee web site

Provides a focal point for legislative activity – monitors proposed legislation – reports legislative positions to the Executive Board – works closely with the Department of Revenue to ensure sound property tax law. 

Membership Services   Co-Chairperson, Mary-Jo Dunn (414) 286-3942, Co-Chairperson, Sarah Tyrrell  (414) 286-3556
Committee web site
Defines and delivers service to support membership education, professionalism, and quality legislation
- coordinates quarterly membership meetings.

Nominating Committee   Chairperson, Mark Hanson, Madison (608) 266-4257
Annually solicits candidates for officers and vacant director positions. 

Personal Property Standards   Chairperson,  Mark Hanson, Madison (608) 266-4257
Committee web site  
Analyzes proposed personal property legislation – periodically reviews statutes, case law, and legal opinions – suggests consistent policy positions to the WAAO leadership. 

Planning & Management   Chairperson, Ryan Raatz, Oconto Falls (920) 846-4250.
Scans the environment for changes affecting the profession – ensures the mission, commitments and issues are current and appropriate – maintains the strategic plan and Executive Handbook.   

Property Tax Exemptions   Chairperson,  Russ Schwandt, Green Bay (920) 448-3066  ,  
Committee web site

Provides information regarding property tax exemptions, forms and procedures – reviews exemption issues, legislation, and court decisions – acts as a resource to help assessors make property tax exemption determinations. 

Public Relations    Chairperson,  Cathy Timm, Cedarburg  (262) 375-7608,  
Committee web site

eeps the public and the WAAO membership informed on assessment matters, property tax awareness and legislation. The committee  maintains and displays a public relations library and provides information to Wisconsin Assessors at the annual League of Municipalities conference.

Real Estate Standards
Chairperson,  Alan Land, Brookfield  (262) 796-6649
Analyzes existing laws for improvement – researches unique valuation problems – reviews and recommends changes to the Wisconsin Property Assessment Manual. 

Rural Concerns    Chairperson, Troy Zacharias, Action Appraisals Inc., (920) 462-0948
Promotes assessment education and professionalism in assessing rural property – encourages interest in rural concerns.  


Ad Hoc Certifications Chairperson Bob Lorier (262) 370-6075
Ad Hoc eRETR & PAD Chairperson Jef Muelver (715) 275-4001
Ad Hoc IAAO Endorsement Committee Chairperson Steve Miner (414) 286-3101

Ad Hoc SEWAA Committee


Steve Miner (414) 286-3101


representative  Positions

WEB MASTER                                        Steve Miner, Milwaukee (414) 286-3101
Supports the mission and commitments of WAAO by specifically addressing the needs of members through creating and maintaining the WAAO web site.

AVOW PUBLISHER                                 Grace Dunn, Brookfield
Assembles and publishes the quarterly newsletter supporting the mission and commitments of WAAO - reports WAAO business, committee work and events - keeps the membership informed on issues and trends affecting the assessment process.

IAAO REPRESENTATIVE                      Steve Miner    (414) 286-3101 
                                                                     Mark Schlafer  (alternate) 
(608) 789-7525  

Supports the mission and commitments of IAAO – promotes IAAO membership – ensures WAAO members’ concerns are heard by the IAAO leadership – provides hospitality for IAAO dignitaries at the League Institute.  Attends the IAAO rep
meetings and conference if possible. 

NCRAAO REPRESENTATIVES              Robert Lorier           (262) 769-6649 
                                                                      Michelle Laube        
(608) 755-3049

Steve Miner              (414) 286-3101 
The NCRAAO Representatives promote the annual NCRAAO Conference - attend the NCRAAO board meetings and conference if possible, assist with setting up and managing in-state conference and provide hospitality for NCRAAO dignitaries at the League Institute.