WAAO Committees and Descriptions

Below is a list of the WAAO Committees with a brief description.  If you are interested in serving on a committee, contact the Chairperson for information and to determine if the Committee has a vacancy. 

Auditing   Chairperson,  Cari Chabron, Wauwatosa  (414) 479-8969
Annually audits the accounting practice of the Association.

Awards   Chairperson,  Mike Higgins, Kenosha  (262)-653-2805 
Promotes assessment education through awards or grants – promotes professionalism through achievement and recognition awards. 

Communications Chairperson, Steve Miner, Milwaukee (414) 286-3103
the AVOW Newsletter and maintains the WAAO web site

Designations Chairperson, Scott Winter RES, Milwaukee (414) 286-3137, Committee web site
Provides assistance and encouragement to members working on designations. 

Education & Training   Chairperson, Matt Tooke, Appleton (920) 832-6406 Committee web site
Coordinates education and training sessions and provides speakers - promotes legislation supporting the public good through educational programs on the legislative process, property tax policy, and property tax administration.

Legislative Committee  Chairperson, Rocco Vita, Pleasant Prairie  (262) 925-6714 Committee web site
Provides a focal point for legislative activity – monitors proposed legislation – reports legislative positions to the Executive Board – works closely with the Department of Revenue to ensure sound property tax law. 

Membership Services   Chairperson,  Nanette Giese, Wausau  (715) 261-6605, Committee web site  
Defines and delivers service to support membership education, professionalism, and quality legislation
- coordinates quarterly membership meetings.

Nominating Committee   Chairperson,  Shannon Krause, Wauwatosa  (414) 479-8969
Annually solicits candidates for officers and vacant director positions. 

Personal Property Standards   Chairperson,  Michael Procknow, Fitchburg  (608) 270-4236
Analyzes proposed personal property legislation – periodically reviews statutes, case law, and legal opinions – suggests consistent policy positions to the WAAO leadership. 

Planning & Management   Chairperson, Michael Procknow, Fitchburg  (608) 270-4236  
Scans the environment for changes affecting the profession – ensures the mission, commitments and issues are current and appropriate – maintains the strategic plan and Executive Handbook.   

Property Tax Exemptions   Chairperson,  Mary Reavey, Milwaukee  (414) 286-3101,  Committee web site
Provides information regarding property tax exemptions, forms and procedures – reviews exemption issues, legislation, and court decisions – acts as a resource to help assessors make property tax exemption determinations. 

Public Relations    Chairperson,  Jim Siebers, Stevens Point  (715) 346-1555,   Committee web site
eeps the public and the WAAO membership informed on assessment matters, property tax awareness and legislation. The committee  maintains and displays a public relations library and provides information to Wisconsin Assessors at the annual League of Municipalities conference.

Real Estate Standards
Chairperson,  Steven Schwoerer, Oshkosh  (920) 236-5074
Analyzes existing laws for improvement – researches unique valuation problems – reviews and recommends changes to the Wisconsin Property Assessment Manual. 

Rural Concerns    Chairperson, Melvin Raatz, Oconto Falls  (920) 846-4250 
Promotes assessment education and professionalism in assessing rural property – encourages interest in rural concerns.  


Ad Hoc Certifications


Robert Lorier

(262) 796-6649

IAAO Endorsement Committee


Mary Reavey

(414) 286-3101

NCRAAO 2015 Host Committee Chairperson James Siebers (715) 346-1555
WAAO Records Retention Chairperson Steve Miner (414) 286-3103


representative  Positions

WEB MASTER                                        Steve Miner, Wauwatosa (414) 479-8969
Supports the mission and commitments of WAAO by specifically addressing the needs of members through creating and maintaining the WAAO web site.

AVOW PUBLISHER                                 Steve Miner Wauwatosa (414) 479-8969
Assembles and publishes the quarterly newsletter supporting the mission and commitments of WAAO - reports WAAO business, committee work and events - keeps the membership informed on issues and trends affecting the assessment process.

IAAO REPRESENTATIVE                      Mary Reavey     (414) 286-3101 
Peter Weissenfluh    (414) 286-3103  
Supports the mission and commitments of IAAO – promotes IAAO membership – ensures WAAO members’ concerns are heard by the IAAO leadership – provides hospitality for IAAO dignitaries at the League Institute.  Attends the IAAO rep
meetings and conference if possible. 

NCRAAO REPRESENTATIVES              Robert Lorier          (414) 769-6649 
                                                                      Barbara Berget     
  (608) 329-2537

James Siebers          (715) 346-1555
The NCRAAO Representatives promote the annual NCRAAO Conference - attend the NCRAAO board meetings and conference if possible, assist with setting up and managing in-state conference and provide hospitality for NCRAAO dignitaries at the League Institute.